Rad project: Sheer Purple Top

Rad project: Sheer purple top

Rad project: Sheer purple top

Every year I try and sew some clothes but sometimes I don’t get a chance to finish them, so I end up stumbling across bits of fabric that belong to something that was sitting somewhere with the other thing that looks like a sleeve or collar. And then there’s that sometimes I do actually get round to finishing a garment…cue my pretty little sheer purple top.

The purple fabric had been in my sewing box for well over a year and just didn’t know what to do with it. The fabric (organza) looked quite hard to work with, and I’m by no means an expert so I put it off until I knew what to do. Earlier this year, I stumbled across the fabric again and this time I was determined to make *something* with it. Luckily, my idea to make a cute sleeveless vest worked out really well. Also, the cut/style of the garment works well with the fabric.

Here are some close-ups – I customised the top with thin gold stitches down the front and some gold beads on the neckline to add a little sparkle:

Rad project: Sheer purple top

Rad project: Sheer purple top – closeup

Rad project: Sheer purple top

Rad project: Sheer purple top

A few weeks later, I saw this picture of Nicole Warne rocking a similar style. How cute does she look?!

Nicole Warne

Leave a Reply

