Rad Reviews: MAC Retro Matte lipsticks (part1)

As mentioned in my earlier post, I managed to get the three MAC Retro Matte lipsticks which appear to be limited edition but since MAC haven’t been very consistent with their messaging, it might actually be coming back. For now though, the MAC UK website is showing all but these three as available. If you want the three that I’ve reviewed, which are: Steady Going (light pink), Runway Hit (nude) and Fixed on Drama (deep wine), visit Selfridges before it sells out. I had a look this morning and they’re still in stock.

Like Ruby Woo, the lipsticks are great quality. Matte lipsticks in general are quite drying for me and these are no different. The colours are all great, though I wouldn’t say that you can’t find these colours anywhere though the Matte formula is what sells it. (P.s you can just make any lipstick matte with a bit of translucent powder!)

MAC Retro Matte – Steady Going

The formula is a little drying but not as much as Ruby Woo and Fixed on Drama are. It glides easily on the lips and gives a nice coverage. The colour is a strong light pink shade. It lasted around 5 hours on me.

Radlist Mac Retro Matte Steady Going Radlist Mac Retro Matte Steady going

MAC Retro Matte – Runway Hit

This lipstick was probably the most hydrating (as much as it can get from a Matte formula). It glides well on the lips and gives a nice even coverage. The colour is more pink than nude as the collection suggests. This also lasted around 5 hours on me.

Radlist Mac Retro Matte RunwayhitRadlist Mac Retro Matte Runwayhit

MAC Retro Matte – Fixed on Drama

Of the three I reviewed, Fixed on Drama was probably the least hydrating and slightly uncomfortable to wear because it is so drying. It is very similar to how Ruby Woo feels on me. It doesn’t glide as easily on application but it has a good opaque and even coverage. This also lasted around 5 hours on me – the colour somewhat retains very slightly like a stain after 5 hours.

Radlist Mac Retro Matte FixedondramaRadlist Mac Retro Matte Fixedondrama

Let me know what you think!

10 comments

  1. I just started reading your blog so I don’t know if you’ve done this before but I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award – http://vividwinter.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/nomination-the-versatile-blogger-award/ xx

    Fixed on Drama looks really good on you. Such a shame it’s drying. I love vampy lip colours.

    1. Hi VividWinter – thank you so much. Not heard of the versatile blogger award but will check it out. Thanks again, its really sweet of you.

      If you like vampy colours, my favs are MAC Dark Side and MAC Diva – they’re not as drying!

      1. Awh thanks. – My card is going to get hit hard if I go into Mac but it’s so worth it! 🙂 – Have you tried Riri Heaux?

      2. Yep 🙂 I was lucky to get Riri Heaux which sold out pretty quick- it’s the matte version of Dark side which I also have and that colour is one of my favourite lipsticks! It’s a lot more red than Fixed on Drama. Do you wear dark lipsticks?

      3. I prefer dark lipsticks to lighter one just because I have darker skin. In photos my skin looks more chocolate but in life it’s more a dark caramel with yellow undertones. I just find that darker lip colours match my skin more than lipsticks thay would look chalky. .. I’m only just getting into make up in general though so my collection of them isn’t very large.

      4. I know what you mean about growing a makeup collection. Mine has been painstaking to grow and also expensive! I read a lot of reviews before I buy and sometimes it’s good to follow someone who has similar colouring to you as there is nothing worse than spending money on products that just don’t suit. I’ve got a few lipsticks (MAC Myth for one!) which just looks so awful against my skintone – I bought it because everyone raved about that colour but its better to try before you buy, at least until you know what colours work for you.
        I’m sure bright colours look great on you! A good inbetween a bright and dark red is Nars Shanghai express if you haven’t got it already. Its another of my favourites – Nars makeup is amazing.

      5. I’ll have to test out ll of the lipsticks you’ve suggested when I’m back down in London next week. It’s a complete pain to find these things where I am at the moment. (Another reason I’ve never been a big one for make-up). – Thanks so much. 🙂

  2. Fixed on Drama looks amazing on you! Well, they all look great, but I love the dramatic lip color on you. Very cool!

    1. Thanks Sam! 🙂

Leave a Reply

