Rad Reviews: Tom Ford Cream colour for eyes – summer 2013

Radlist Tom Ford cream colour eye

Tom Ford cream colour eye summer 2013

Ok so I’m really late in reviewing these Tom Ford Cream colour eyeshadows in Pink Haze (pink/ mauve) and Escapade (rose gold). I didn’t have a chance to wear them a lot over summer because they are cream eyeshadows and usually wearing soft and melty eyeshadow in sweltering heat is probably not the best idea. But I got round to wearing these a lot recently and actually they are such easy wearing eyeshadows that I think could be worn all year round.

A lot of beauty bloggers have recommended the Tom Ford cream eyeshadows because of the quality. I have to admit that in terms of quality of a cream eyeshadow,  I really haven’t come across anything like this. Both textures are very creamy air whipped and highly pigmented. Because of the texture, a little goes a long way – for example, I had a little of the product on the inside of the packaging lid (less than a pea sized amount), I managed to get around 3 very pigmented wears just from that!

Radlist Tom Ford cream colour eye

Another worry of mine was the price – at £28 each, these aren’t cheap by any means. Though having seen the quality, the amount of product and usage I would get from this, I have to admit that the price is pretty reasonable.

Radlist Tom Ford cream colour eyeRadlist Tom Ford cream colour eyesRadlist Tom Ford cream colour eyes

First up is Pink Haze – a dusky pink with a hint of mauve. It has a shimmer which is quite silvery and reflective but it doesn’t take away the pink pigment in the cream. The texture is creamy and air whipped which is easy to apply and blend out. I also found that I only need to use very little product to get good even coverage on the eye. I wore this eyeshadow with primer and without. With primer, this eyeshadow lasts approx 7 hours after which it can look patchy in places. Without primer is probably the worst as after an hour it gets quite patchy and disappears after 3 hours of wear. I would recommend using a good eyeshadow primer like NARS.

Radlist Tom Ford cream colour eyeRadlist Tom Ford cream colour eyes Radlist Tom Ford cream colour eye

Escapade is a light rose gold colour with a golden shimmer. Of the two, I found this worked better with my skintone but that’s just a personal preference. The texture is the same as pink haze, soft, creamy and air whipped which is easy to apply and blend out. The same is also true that a little product is all you need to get good even coverage on the eye. I also wore this eyeshadow with primer and without. With primer, this eyeshadow lasts approx 6 hours. It looked very patchy after this time. It is worse wearing without primer as this too got patchy after an hour and faded, leaving lines after 2 hours of wear.

Overall, I can see how some will question wear time for a product that essentially costs the same as an eyeshadow palette. The real winner for me is the quality, the amount of product against the usage and texture. The wear time is a slight let down for me, though with a primer it works better. These are still some of the best eyeshadows I own but can appreciate that this may not suit everyone’s expectations or budget.

Escapade is still available to buy from Harvey Nichols and Pink Haze from Selfridges.

3 comments

  1. The rose gold looks absolutely gorgeous on your eyes. You have such an incredible look to you, I’m obsessed! I have to get around to picking up some of these shadows when I go to Sephora.

    ❤ Naa

    http://adolescentchic.wordpress.com/

    1. Thank you! That’s very kind 🙂

  2. They both look stunning! x
    P.s. I nominated you for the Liebster Award! You can find the details here: http://wp.me/p3tPIt-gf . Congrats! x

Leave a Reply

